Good to know

Welcome to the section presenting our most frequently asked questions. Here you will find answers to questions that guests often ask, and that may interest you too. If, after reading, you still have queries or suggestions in addition to the points made below, please let us know.

What should I bring with me?

What should I consider when packing my case? What is essential and what is not?

If you have a choice of several suitcases, take a smaller one; one of the luxuries of fasting is that you don’t need much and are unburdened. You should therefore travel lightly. However, you should include the following things:

  • warm clothes (depending on the clinic and time of year: sweaters, socks, scarf), hiking gear and shoes
  • indoor sports shoes
  • rain gear
  • sports and bathing wear (european bathing wear !)
  • comfortable clothes for everyday wear
  • an elegant garment just in case (e.g. concerts, theatre)
  • your (new?) diary
  • books you have long wanted to read
  • your favourite music and a pair of comfortable headphones
  • recent medical reports as well as prescribed medication in sufficient quantities (or a prescription from your personal doctor)
     

Can I work during my stay?

Will my performance be restricted through therapeutic fasting or are there any other reasons for not working during my stay at Buchinger Wilhelmi?

In the past, we have had numerous examples of guests who managed to write a novel or a film script, and then again others who arrived with a whole case full of heavy files and took them home again unopened. If you can afford to do so, come to us without the pressure of work! Treat yourself to the freedom of doing whatever you want to.
 

 

 

What about pets?

Can I bring a pet or is this not allowed in the clinic?

No, unfortunately, for reasons of general hygiene and to respect the needs of those with allergies, you are not permitted to bring animals with you.
 

Can I bring a guest with me?

Can I bring somebody with me who does not want to use your services?

Yes, we welcome guests as visitors for up to 3 days. From the 4th day onwards they are considered as patients and are required to take part in our medical and therapeutic programmes.
 

Can I spend just a weekend at the clinic?

I only have very little time and would like to simply relax for a weekend. Is that possible at Buchinger Wilhelmi?

We would be delighted to welcome your for a weekend stay to enable you to get to know us and our services. But to enjoy the full benefits of our refreshing and salutary treatments, we recommend you visit us for at least a week, or two if you want to fast.

Relax from 3 nights (Lake Constance)

How far in advance should I make a reservation?

Can I make a spontaneous decision to come and will I get the room of my choice?

Due to high demand, you are only likely to get the room of your choice in rare cases if you decide to visit us on the spur of the moment, and probably only in the autumn or winter season. To make sure you get a room in the category of your choice, we recommend you book 2 to 3 months in advance. Unfortunately, for logistical reasons, we cannot reserve a certain room, only the requested category – but all of our rooms are equally attractive and comfortable.
 

Do all rooms have internet connection and TV?

Can I watch television and use the internet in my room whenever I want?

Of course, you can do both if you wish: All rooms have WLAN access and we provide a television at an extra charge. But to fully savour the experience of therapeutic fasting, we strongly recommend you abstain from using the internet, TV, radio and telephone. Close your ears to the noise from the world outside, listen to your heart and to the chords that resound in a new and undistorted way through experiencing art, culture and nature during fasting.


 

What is the difference between the various room categories?

Do the services differ according to the room category?

No, the price difference between the room categories refers solely to the position, size and features of the room, and not the therapeutic or other services included.

 

What services are included in the price?

What do the different packages available at Buchinger Wilhelmi include?

The price of our packages includes a whole array of services: medical consultation, 24-hour nursing care, the basic laboratory examination (from 10-Day-stay), fasting provisions in the form of various kinds of water and tea, fresh juices and vegetable consommés, and a voucher for different therapies and treatments. The various activities in our weekly programme and the use of our facilities (link) are also included in the packages. The voucher is included in most of all packages, buts its value depends on how long you stay. For a detailed price list, see here:

 

 

What happens on the day I arrive?

When should I arrive? When can I move into my room and with whom can I discuss the details of my stay?

If you are visiting our clinic on Lake Constance for the first time, we recommend you arrive between 2 and 5 p.m. In Marbella, the ideal time to check in is between 3.30 and 7 p.m. At these times, our complete welcoming team is there to show you around the facilities and answer your questions. Please let us know in advance whether you wish to have a medical consultation with a doctor upon arrival so that your programme can start right away.

 

How, when and where are therapies and treatments scheduled?

With such a wide range of individual treatments, how are appointments scheduled? Who can I ask about it?

In your first consultation, your attending doctor will draw up your individual therapy programme with you. Further appointments for therapies and treatments are planned centrally.
If you are a frequent guest at Buchinger Wilhelmi and know which treatments you want, you can contact us before you arrive and let us know your requests so that you can start the treatments of your choice from day one. You can reach the therapy planning office at Buchinger Wilhelmi on Lake Constance therapieplanung@buchinger.com, Marbella planificacion@buchinger.es.

Can I talk to a doctor before my stay?

If medical questions arise while preparing for my stay, can I contact one of your doctors directly?

You may of course contact us in confidence whenever you want to know anything or have questions regarding medical issues. On request, we can arrange an appointment by phone with the doctor, who can answer your questions. Please send us your request via our “Medical request” contact form. This e-mail address is protected against spam bots! JavaScript must be activated on your computer to display the form.

 

Does fasting increase the risk of gall stones?

Extreme weight loss is said to increase the risk of gall stones and bilious attacks. Is that true for fasting too?

In the case of extreme measures to achieve weight loss – gastric banding or protein diets – the formation of gallstones was observed to increase by 8 % after a period of four weeks, and by 20 to 35 % after some months of losing weight. The formation of gallstones after therapeutic fasting is unknown – perhaps because therapeutic fasting seldom lasts longer than 3 – 4 weeks and only natural substances are used as supplements.
 

Can fasting cause gout?

It is said that rapid weight loss with strict diets can cause gout. Is that true for fasting?

Under professional medical supervision and care, gout attacks are extremely rare. A sufficient intake of fluids, adhering to the elementary rules of fasting as well as observing laboratory results and – if necessary – administering supplementary substances to high-risk patients all help to reduce painful gout attacks.

 

Will I lose liquids and minerals during fasting?

If I hardly eat anything but continue excreting, does this affect the balance of minerals in my body?

Don’t worry, the loss of minerals that are essential to the body during fasting is prevented by the body`s own reduction processes. Additionally, the fresh fruit and vegetable juices you are given as supplementary nutrition during fasting sustain the body with sufficient amounts of potassium and other minerals. Even so, some of the following symptoms may arise: low blood pressure, dizziness, headaches, fatigue, dry skin and membranes, halitosis, and a heightened sensitivity to cold. These symptoms normally disappear spontaneously or can be treated with other naturopathic remedies: Black tea, honey, warm baths, warm baths and compresses, Kneipp treatments, physical activity, and the activation of excretory processes via the bowels, kidney, skin and lungs. Many fasting patients have no complaints at all, and the majority experience a heightened feeling of physical and spiritual wellbeing.

 

Does fasting destroy heart muscle?

Does the heart muscle lose proteins during fasting? What effect does this have?

It is quite normal to use small quantities of protein during fasting and this is unproblematic, even in the case of heart muscle. Methodically correct fasting improves the performance capacity of the muscles, including the heart muscle. This is even more the case when the patient follows a supportive exercise and fitness programme. People fasting usually feel fitter, can move more freely, and progress to higher fitness levels in walking and gymnastics groups. From the animal kingdom we know that migratory birds flying over oceans and deserts neither eat nor drink during this extremely strenuous physical activity. It was discovered that they not only use protein muscle cells from their wings during these flights, but also from the heart muscles. Their heart shrinks by up to 20% without their physical performance suffering in the least.

 

Is fasting dangerous?

Can therapeutic fasting have such a debilitating effect on me that health issues result?

Therapeutic fasting under medical supervision is not dangerous; on the contrary, it is an effective treatment for metabolic diseases and many so-called diseases of affluence such as obesity and high blood pressure, reducing further risk factors. Fasting has been shown to have a very positive effect on rheumatism, asthma, allergies and migraine, to name just a few.

 

What about the yo-yo effect?

Does the dreaded yo-yo effect apply to fasting, as it does to other methods for losing weight? Do supplementary protein drinks help?

It is natural that your body will regain weight after you stop fasting. Whether or not it does this in excess, however, does not depend on protein drinks or other supplements, but on how well you prepare yourself for a healthier lifestyle after fasting. According to our clinical statistics, after fasting ten times – approximately once a year, as recommended traditionally – a third of our regular patients weighed less than they had when they first fasted, another third weighed more or less the same, and only the final third was unable to avoid weight gain, although this was mostly insignificant. By the way, periodical weight loss and gain is not unusual in nature and is part of the natural rhythm of many developed life forms: They store fat when nourishment is available and live on their fat reserves during times of the year when food is less readily available. They do not generally become fatter during the year. In addition, fasting makes it easier to change to a new healthier lifestyle, which can have a positive impact on your weight in the long term.

 

How much weight will I lose in two weeks through fasting?

What weight loss can I expect? Are there any statistics?

It is not possible to specify in advance exactly how much weight you will lose. Weight loss varies and depends on many factors such as your age, build and weight, gender, nutritional habits, the amount you exercise and your ability to relax. Very obese patients generally lose around 200-500g/day. But if you are fasting for other reasons, for example due to a chronic inflammatory disease, your weight loss can be decelerated by taking a few fasting supplements without mitigating the positive effects of fasting.  

 

Is fasting a suitable way to permanently lose weight?

Does fasting facilitate weight loss or prevent further weight gain?

Men aged between 30 and 40 and post-menopause women inevitably tend to gain weight. Fasting can interrupt this tendency. Many people keep their normal weight through fasting or counter the tendency to gain weight by following a regular, professionally supervised therapeutic fasting schedule. When fasting, the primary source of energy right from the start is fat and not protein. It is also true that protein is broken down during fasting, partly from the muscle cells. However, muscle cells are able to release proteins without being harmed in the process. On the contrary: the breaking down of proteins is a reversible phenomenon, and can have a therapeutic effect for certain illnesses. A preliminary loss of fluids occurs during fasting as it does with most other diets. This can be explained on the one hand by the loss of the water bound to glycogens and proteins, and on the other by the desalinating and dehydrating effects of fasting. This has a highly positive effect on high blood pressure and oedemas.
 

What does detoxification mean?

How can fasting help to detoxify a person’s body?

The concept of detox fasting according to Dr Otto Buchinger is a purging process, giving the person fasting a feeling of lightness and greater clarity on the one hand and producing physical changes such as cleansed skin, improved breathing, feelings of well-being, and a marked reduction of complaints on the other.

The body is detoxified of certain substances found in excessive quantities in the blood, e.g. cholesterol and other fats, glucose, high fatty deposits, and clots in the arteries and veins. Certain AGEs – advanced glycation end products, or immune complexes – which cause pathogenic illnesses are also eliminated. Medically supervised fasting normalises the blood count and reduces fat deposits in most cases. It is known that extremely low-fat diets can also break down typical arterial sclerotic deposits.
 

When is fasting indicated?

For what indications is fasting recommended?

From a medical viewpoint, fasting makes sense for treating various metabolic diseases such as hyperlipidemia (excess fat in the blood), diabetes mellitus type 2 or metabolic syndrome. It is also indicated for obesity, in particular for patients who want to change their lifestyle permanently. Fasting has also been proven to have a beneficial effect on chronic inflammatory diseases like rheumatoid arthritis or joint disorders like osteoarthritis. Irritable bowel syndrome, migraines, fibromyalgia syndrome and many other diseases can also be influenced by fasting. In animals, fasting has a positive therapeutic effect on various types of cancer. However, as research on humans has not produced comparable results as yet, we do not treat this disease pattern.

Indications

What are the alternatives if I do not want to fast?

Can I enjoy the holistic treatments at Buchinger Wilhelmi without fasting?

Of course you can take advantage of all our medical treatments and activities as our guest even if you do not fast. Our doctors will put together an individual therapy programme for you incorporating nutrition as an important element. Healthy food can be so tasty!
 

Is it possible to fast for a very short period?

Apart from the recommended period, is there such a thing as a minimum length of stay for fasting?

To undergo therapeutic fasting in our clinics, you should come for a minimum of ten days. That is the time you need for a digestive rest day before you fast, for the fast itself, and for the refeeding phase after breaking your fast. If you would like to get to know our clinics, give your digestive system a rest or take advantage of our other activities while enjoying our delicious and yet light wholefood cuisine, you may of course visit us for a shorter time.
 

How long does a fast ideally last?

How long does therapeutic fasting last? Is there a recommended fasting period? What do I need to bear in mind?

The human body requires around 2-3 days to adjust its metabolism to fasting. This is followed by a fasting period lasting several days to several weeks, depending on the patient’s indication and constitution. This is wrapped up with the refeeding phase. The longer you fast, the longer this refeeding phase should be. A typical length of stay for therapeutic fasting at Buchinger Wilhelmi is between two and four weeks. In individual cases, it can make sense to fast for a considerably longer time. Our doctors will discuss with you how long you should ideally fast when you arrive, or, if you prefer, in advance.

 

What forms of therapy are possible in addition to therapeutic fasting?

What is meant by supplementary methods and what additional activities and treatments are available?

Buchinger therapeutic fasting is aimed at achieving a holistic sense of wellbeing and is supplemented with a wide range of activities and treatments prescribed by Dr Otto Buchinger for the body, spirit and soul. Read more: Our holistic programme

 

What happens during a typical fast?

Are there different phases during fasting? How long do they last?

If you book a two-week stay at one of our clinics, the procedure for therapeutic fasting is as follows: First your organism is attuned to fasting in a so-called digestive rest day. This involves ingesting approx. 600 calories in the form of fruit and vegetables, mainly carbohydrates with no fat and only very little protein. This is followed by nine days of fasting with fixed routines, accompanying treatments and activities. After breaking your fast, your body gently readjusts from feeding on its inner resources to nourishment from outside in four “refeeding” days. The fast itself can be extended by several days or weeks. To find out more about a typical day’s fasting at Buchinger Wilhelmi, see here:

A day at Buchinger

Scroll to top

FAQ

Kann ich auch ganz spontan kommen. Und bekomme ich auf Wunsch auch ein ganz bestimmtes Zimmer?

Ganz spontan wird es wegen der großen Nachfrage nur in in den seltensten Fällen klappen – und dann eher in der Herbst- und Wintersaison. Um ganz sicher ein Zimmer in der von Ihnen gewünschten Kategorie zu bekommen, empfiehlt es sich 2 bis 3 Monate im Voraus zu buchen. Ein bestimmtes Zimmer können wir aus logistischen Gründen leider nicht reservieren, nur die gewünschte Kategorie – doch schön und komfortabel sind alle unsere Zimmer gleichermaßen.

Woran sollte ich denken, wenn ich den Koffer packe? Was brauche ich, was nicht?

Wenn Sie mehrere Koffer zur Auswahl haben, nehmen Sie den kleinen; der Luxus des Fastens besteht darin, dass man mit sehr wenig auskommt und unbeschwert von Ballast aller Art ist. Sie können also mit leichtem Gepäck reisen, in dem die folgenden Dinge allerdings enthalten sein sollten:

  • warme Kleidung (je nach Standort und Jahreszeit Pullover, Socken, Schal), Wanderkleidung und -schuhe
  • Hallensportschuhe, möglichst helle Sohle
  • Regenkleidung
  • Sport- und Badekleidung (europäische Badekleidung)
  • bequeme Tageskleidung
  • ein elegantes Kleidungsstück für alle Fälle (z.B. Festspiele, Theater)
  • Ihr (neues?) Tagebuch
  • Bücher, die Sie schon lange lesen wollten
  • Ihre Lieblingsmusik und ein Paar bequeme Kopfhörer
  • aktuelle ärztliche Untersuchungsbefunde sowie die verordneten  Medikamente in ausreichender Menge (oder anderenfalls die entsprechende Rezepte Ihres Hausarztes)
Ist meine Leistungsfähigkeit beim Heilfasten beeinträchtigt, oder spricht sonst etwas dagegen, dass ich während meiner Zeit bei Buchinger Wilhelmi mitgebrachte Arbeit erledige?

In unserer Geschichte gab es Fastende, die bei uns einen ganzen Roman oder ein Filmdrehbuch geschrieben haben, genauso aber auch andere, die ganze Rollkoffer von Akten mitgebracht, dann aber nicht einmal ausgepackt haben. Wenn Sie es sich leisten können, kommen Sie ohne Arbeit zu uns! Gönnen Sie sich die Freiheit, neue Erfahrungen zu machen oder einfach nur das zu tun, wonach Ihnen zumute ist.

Kann ich mein geliebtes Tier mit mir nehmen, oder stehen dem die Gegebenheiten der Fastenklinik entgegen?

Nein, leider kann man aus Gründen der allgemeinen Hygiene und aus besonderer Rücksicht gegen Allergiker keine Haustiere mit zu uns bringen.

Ja, bis zu 3 Nächte gelten Gäste der Klinik als Besucher, von der 4. Nacht an als Gäste und Patienten die in den medizinisch-therapeutischen Ablauf unserer ganzheitlichen Gesundheitsangebote einbezogen sind.

Ich habe nur wenig Zeit und möchte einfach mal ein Wochenende ausspannen, geht das bei Ihnen?

Gerne begrüßen wir Sie auch zu einem Wochenendaufenthalt, bei dem Sie uns und unsere Angebote kennenlernen können. Um jedoch in den vollen Genuss unserer wohltuenden und heilsamen Therapieangebote zu kommen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, uns für mindestens eine Woche zu besuchen, falls Sie fasten möchten für mindestens zwei.

Relax ab 3 Nächte (Bodensee)

Kann ich in meinem Zimmer fernsehen und online gehen, wenn ich möchte?

Natürlich, wenn Sie es wünschen, können Sie beides tun: alle Zimmer verfügen über W-Lan und ein Fernsehgerät stellen wir Ihnen gegen Aufpreis auch zur Verfügung. Doch wenn Sie die Erfahrung des Heilfastens wirklich auskosten wollen, dann empfehlen wir Ihnen von den medialen Reizen durch Internet, Fernsehen, Radio und Telefon Abstand zu nehmen und sich nicht um das Beste zu bringen. Ziehen Sie sich einfach mal raus aus dem „weltlichen Lärm“, horchen Sie in sich selbst und auf die Saiten, die das Erleben von Kunst, Kultur und Natur beim Fasten neu und unverstellt in Ihnen zum Schwingen bringt.

Geht mit der Wahl der Zimmerkategorie auch ein Unterschied bei den Leistungen einher?

Nein, die Preisunterschiede der einzelnen Zimmerkategorien erklären sich ausschließlich durch Lage, Größe und Ausstattung der Zimmer selbst, therapeutische oder sonstige Leistungen sind davon völlig unberührt.

Was beinhalten die unterschiedlichen Arrangements, die man Bei Buchinger Wilhelmi wählen kann?

Inbegriffen im Preis unserer Arrangements ist ein ganzes Bündel an Inklusivleistungen: Die ärztlichen Sprechstunden, der 24-Stunden Pflegedienst, die Basislaboruntersuchung (je nach Aufenthaltsdauer) , die Fastenverpflegung in Form von verschiedenen Wasser- und Teesorten, frischen Säften und Gemüseboullions und ein Voucher für verschiedene Therapien und Anwendungen. Auch die unterschiedlichen Aktivitäten des Wochenprogramms sowie die Nutzung unserer Einrichtungen sind in den Arrangement-Tarifen inbegriffen. Diese Leistungen finden sich bei fast allen Arrangements, nur die Höhe des Vouchers unterscheidet sich in Abhängigkeit zur Dauer Ihres Aufenthaltes.

Wann soll ich anreisen? Wann kann ich mein Zimmer beziehen und mit wem die Details meines Aufenthalts besprechen?

Am Anreisetag steht Ihnen Ihr Ihr Zimmer ab 16 Uhr zur Verfügung. Dann steht Ihnen unser Empfangsteam komplett zur Verfügung, führt Sie durch alle Einrichtungen und beantwortet Ihre Fragen. Bitte geben Sie uns vorab kurz Bescheid, wenn Sie am Anreisetag ein Gespräch mit einem Arzt oder einer Ärztin wünschen, damit Ihr Programm sofort beginnen kann.

Wie funktioniert bei einem so breiten Angebot an individuellen Anwendungen und Behandlungen die Terminierung? An wen wende ich mich deswegen?

In der ersten Sprechstunde erstellt Ihr behandelnder Arzt mit Ihnen Ihr individuelles Therapieprogramm. Die weitere Planung Ihrer Termine für Therapien und Anwendungen geschieht an zentraler Stelle.

Wenn Sie bereits gute Erfahrungen mit Therapien aus unserem Haus gemacht haben, können Sie gerne bereits vor Ihrer Anreise mit uns Kontakt aufnehmen und Ihre Wünsche anmelden, so dass Sie schon am ersten Tag mit Ihrem Wunschprogramm beginnen.

Die Therapieplanung bei Buchinger Wilhelmi am Bodensee erreichen sie untertherapieplanung@buchinger-wilhelmi.com, in Marbella unter planificacion@buchinger-wilhelmi.es.

Wenn ich in Vorbereitung meines Aufenthaltes medizinische Fragen habe, kann ich dann direkt mit einem Ihrer Ärzte Kontakt aufnehmen?

Wenn immer Sie etwas wissen möchten oder in Bezug auf medizinischen Fragen unsicher sind, wenden Sie sich vertrauensvoll an uns. Auf Wunsch vereinbaren wir dann einen Telefontermin mit dem Arzt, der Ihre Frage beantworten kann. Bitte schicken Sie uns Ihre Anfrage über unser Kontaktformular „Medizinische Anfrage“.

Extreme Gewichtsreduzierung soll die Gefahr für Gallensteine und Gallenkoliken erhöhen. Fasten auch?

Bei extremen Maßnahmen der Gewichtsreduktion, z. B. durch Magenverkleinerung oder Proteindiäten, wurde die Bildung von Gallensteinen beobachtet und zwar bis zu 8% nach 4 Wochen und zwischen 20 und 35% nach mehreren Monaten Gewichtsabnahme. Gallensteinbildung nach Heilfasten ist hingegen nicht bekannt – was daran liegen mag, dass das Heilfasten selten länger als 3–4 Wochen durchgeführt wird und Zusätze nur in naturbelassener Form verabreicht werden.

Es heißt, dass schnelles Abnehmen durch strenge Diäten Gichtanfälle auslösen kann, ist das beim Fasten auch so?

Im medizinisch geleiteten Fasten sind Gichtanfälle absolut selten. Eine ausreichende Flüssigkeitszufuhr, die Beachtung der elementaren Fastenregeln sowie die Beobachtung der Laborwerte und – bei Bedarf – die Gabe eines Präparates an Risikopersonen verhindern Gichtanfälle zuverlässig.

Wenn ich kaum mehr etwas zu mir nehme, aber immer weiter ausscheide, leidet dann nicht der Mineralienhaushalt?

Keine Sorge, physiologisch bedenkliche Mineralienverluste werden beim Fasten durch körpereigene Sparmechanismen verhindert. Und die frischen Obst- und Gemüsesäfte, die Sie bei uns als Fastenzusätze bekommen, führen dem Körper Kalium und andere Mineralien in ausreichender Menge zu. Dennoch können gelegentlich einige der folgenden Symptome auftreten: zu niedriger Blutdruck, Schwindel, Kopfschmerzen, Müdigkeit, trockene Haut und Schleimhäute, Mundgeruch und erhöhtes Kälteempfinden. Meist jedoch verschwinden die genannten Symptome spontan oder lassen sich durch naturheilkundliche Anwendungen leicht behandeln: Schwarztee, Honig, warme Bäder und Wickel, Kneipp-Anwendungen, körperliche Aktivität und die Förderung der Ausscheidungsvorgänge über Darm, Nieren, Haut und Lungen bewirken, dass Fastende bei uns zumeist völlig beschwerdefrei sind. Die überwiegende Mehrzahl unserer Gäste empfindet beim Fasten sogar ein zunehmendes körperliches und geistiges Wohlbefinden.

Verliert der Herzmuskel beim Fasten Eiweiß? Und wie wirkt sich das aus?

Der Verbrauch geringer Eiweißmengen beim Fasten ist ganz normal und nicht problematisch – auch beim Herzmuskel. Bei methodisch richtigem Fasten nimmt die Leistungsfähigkeit der Muskulatur – auch der Herzmuskulatur – im Gegenteil zu. Und das um so mehr, wenn begleitend ein adäquates Bewegungsprogramm durchgeführt wird. Wer fastet, fühlt sich in der Regel zunehmend fitter, kann sich leichter bewegen und steigt beispielsweise beim Wandern oder in der Gymnastik kontinuierlich in leistungsstärkere Gruppen auf. Aus dem Tierreich ist bekannt, dass beispielsweise Zugvögel, die über Meere und Wüsten fliegen, trotz extremer körperlicher Aktivität weder trinken noch fressen. Dabei verbrauchen sie nicht nur das Muskeleiweiß des Bewegungsapparates, sondern auch aus dem Herzmuskel. Ihr Herz wird dabei bis zu 20% kleiner, ohne dass die Leistungsfähigkeit zurückgeht.

Kann man sich durch Heilfasten so sehr schwächen, dass es zu gesundheitlichen Beeinträchtigungen kommt?

Heilfasten unter medizinischer Betreuung ist nicht gefährlich. Im Gegenteil, es ist eine wirksame Therapie bei Stoffwechselerkrankungen und auch bei vielen sogenannten Wohlstandskrankheiten wie Übergewicht und Bluthochdruck und reduziert damit Risikofaktoren. Aber auch bei Rheuma, Asthma, Allergien und Migräne und vielen anderen Indikationen zeigt Fasten eine gute therapeutische Wirkung.

Gibt es beim Fasten ähnlich wie bei anderen Methoden zur Gewichtsreduzierung den gefürchteten Jo-Jo-Effekt? Und helfen dagegen Proteingetränke, wie man oft liest?

Dass das Gewicht nach dem Fastenbrechen wieder steigt, ist natürlich. Dass es das nicht im Übermaß tut, hängt aber nicht von Proteingetränken oder anderen Hilfsmitteln ab, sondern ganz alleine von Ihrer Vorbereitung während des Fastens auf eine gesündere Lebensführung. Wir haben darüber Buch geführt: Unsere klinische Statistik ergibt, dass nach zehnmaligem Fasten – etwa einmal pro Jahr, wie die Tradition es empfiehlt – ein Drittel unserer regelmäßigen Gäste weniger Gewicht als zu Beginn des ersten Fastens hat, ein weiteres Drittel das Ausgangsgewicht hält und nur das letzte Drittel zugelegt hat, und auch das meist nur unwesentlich. Die periodische Ab- und Zunahme des Körpergewichtes ist in der Natur übrigens nichts Ungewöhnliches und gehört bei vielen höher entwickelten Lebensformen, zum natürlichen Rhythmus: In der nahrungsreichen Zeit speichern sie Fett und leben in der nahrungsarmen Zeit von ihrem Speicherfett – sie nehmen also im Laufe der Zeit nicht zu. Fasten vereinfacht überdies den Einstieg in einen veränderten Lebensstil, was sich nachhaltig positiv auf Ihr Gewicht auswirken kann.

Mit welcher Gewichtsabnahme kann ich rechnen, gibt es konkrete Zahlen?

Nein, wie viel Gewicht sie genau verlieren, lässt sich im Vorhinein nicht genau beziffern. Die Gewichtsabnahme ist sehr unterschiedlich und hängt von vielerlei Faktoren wie Alter, Körperbau und Gewicht, Geschlecht, Ernährungsgewohnheiten, Bewegung oder der Fähigkeit zur Entspannung ab. Bei stark Übergewichtigen liegt die Gewichtsabnahme bei etwa 200-500g/Tag. Wenn Sie aber aus anderen Gründen fasten, zum Beispiel wegen einer chronisch-entzündlich Erkrankungen, kann durch wenige Fastensupplemente die Gewichtsabnahme verlangsamt werden, ohne die positiven Effekte des Fastens zu mindern.

Kann man mit Fasten abnehmen oder der weiteren Zunahme von Gewicht entgegenwirken?

Männer zwischen 30 und 40 und Frauen nach der Menopause tendieren dazu, zuzunehmen. Fasten kann diese Tendenz ganz klar unterbrechen. Viele Menschen halten durch Fasten ihr Normalgewicht oder wirken einer Tendenz zum Übergewicht durch regelmäßiges, fachkundig geleitetes Heilfasten entgegen. Der Hauptbrennstoff im fastenden Organismus ist Fett und nicht Eiweiß – und das von Anfang an. Es ist aber richtig, dass beim Fasten auch Eiweiß abgebaut wird, zum Teil aus den Muskelzellen. Doch die sind in der Lage, Eiweiß abzugeben, ohne Schaden zu nehmen. Im Gegenteil, der Eiweißabbau ist ein umkehrbares Phänomen und kann bei einigen Krankheiten sogar eine therapeutische Wirkung haben. Eine anfängliche Wasserausscheidung kommt beim Fasten wie bei den meisten Diäten vor. Einmal wegen des Verlustes von Wasser, das an Glykogen und Eiweiß gebundenen ist, zum anderen aber auch wegen der entsalzenden und entwässernden Wirkung des Fastens. Im Fall von Bluthochdruck und ödematischen Wassereinlagerungen wirkt sich das äußerst positiv aus.

Wie kann das Heilfasten zu Entschlackung führen, wenn doch beim Menschen anders als etwa bei einem Ofen gar keine »Schlacke« anfällt?

Der Begriff »Entschlackung« ist eine Metapher, die Dr. Otto Buchinger prägte. Sie entspricht einerseits dem subjektiven Gefühl des Ballast-Abwerfens, der Leichtigkeit und der zunehmenden Klarheit, die Fastende erleben, andererseits aber auch objektiven Veränderungen: die Haut wird reiner, die Atmung freier, die Stimmungslage positiver und Beschwerden nehmen ab.

Als »Schlacken« bezeichnet man, wiederum in figürlicher Rede, auch bestimmte Substanzen, die in zu hoher Menge im Blut vorkommen, z. B. Cholesterin und andere Blutfette, Glukose, oder auch zu stark angewachsene Fettdepots und Gefäßablagerungen. Auch krankmachende Eiweißablagerungen (AGEs – advanced glycation endproducts oder Immunkomplexe) zählen dazu. Das medizinisch betreute Fasten normalisiert in den meisten Fällen die Blutwerte und reduziert die Fettdepots. Bekannt ist, dass bei extrem fettarmer Ernährung, die für die Arteriosklerose typischen Gefäßablagerungen zurückgehen können.

Bei welchen Indikationen empfehlen Sie das Heilfasten?

Aus medizinischer Sicht ist Fasten sinnvoll bei der Behandlung verschiedener Stoffwechselerkrankungen wie zu hohen Blutfetten, Diabetes mellitus Typ 2 oder dem metabolischen Syndrom. Ebenso aber auch bei Übergewicht, insbesondere wenn es darum geht, den eigenen Lebensstil nachhaltig zu ändern. Gute Therapieergebnisse sind auch für chronisch-entzündliche Krankheiten wie rheumatoide Arthritis oder Gelenkerkrankungen wie Arthrose nachgewiesen. Auch das Reizdarmsyndrom, Migräne, Fibromyalgiesyndrom und eine Vielzahl anderer Erkrankungen können durch Fasten positiv beeinflusst werden. Im Tiermodell zeigt Fasten einen guten therapeutischen Effekt bei verschiedenen Krebserkrankungen. Da vergleichbare Studienergebnisse beim Menschen jedoch ausstehen, behandeln wir diese Krankheitsbilder aktuell noch nicht.

Indikationen

Kann ich auch ohne zu fasten in den Genuss der ganzheitlichen Angebote von Buchinger Wilhelmi kommen?

Selbstverständlich können Sie als unser Gast sämtliche medizinischen und sonstigen Angebote nutzen ohne zu fasten. Unsere Ärzte erstellen für Sie ein individuelles Therapieprogramm in dem die Kost ein wichtiger Baustein ist. Gesundes kann dabei sehr schmackhaft sein!

Gibt es neben den empfohlenen Zeiträumen so etwas wie eine Mindestaufenthaltsdauer für das Fasten?

Um bei uns eine Heilfastentherapie zu machen, sollten Sie für mindestens zehn Tage zu uns kommen, denn so viel Zeit braucht es für die vorangehenden Entlastungstage, das eigentliche Fasten sowie die Aufbautage nach dem Fastenbrechen. Um uns kennen zu lernen, einzelne Entlastungstage einzulegen oder  – bei exquisiter und dennoch leichter Vollwertkost – alle anderen Angebote bei uns zu nutzen, können Sie uns aber selbstverständlich auch für kürzere Zeit besuchen.

Wie lange dauert das Heilfasten? Gibt es empfohlene Fastenzeiträume? Was gilt es zu beachten?

Der menschliche Körper benötigt für die Umstellung auf den Fastenstoffwechsel etwa 2-3 Tage. Es folgt dann, je nach Indikation und Konstitution eine mehrtägige bis mehrwöchige Fastenzeit. Daran schließt sich der Aufbau an. Je länger das Fasten, desto länger sollte auch diese Aufbauphase sein. Die typische Aufenthaltsdauer für das therapeutische Heilfasten liegt bei uns zwischen zwei und vier Wochen. Im Einzelfall können auch wesentlich längere Fastenperioden sinnvoll sein. Wie lange Sie idealerweise fasten sollten, klären unsere Ärzte mit Ihnen bei der Aufnahme, oder wenn Sie es möchten auch schon im Vorhinein.

Gibt es beim Fasten unterschiedliche Phasen? Und wie gestaltet sich das zeitlich? Wenn Sie uns für zwei Wochen besuchen, gestaltet sich der Ablauf des Heilfastens so: Zunächst stimmen sie Ihren Organismus durch einen sogenannten Entlastungstag auf das Fasten ein. Dabei nehmen sie noch ca. 600 Kalorien in Form von Obst und Gemüse zu sich, also überwiegend Kohlenhydrate, kein Fett, nur sehr wenig Eiweiß. Dann folgt das neuntägige Fasten, mit seinen festen Rhythmen, begleitenden Behandlungen und Angeboten. Mit dem Fastenbrechen beginnen vier Aufbautage, innerhalb derer Sie Ihren Körper schonend von innerer Ernährung auf äußere umstellen. Die eigentliche Fastendauer kann um Tage oder Wochen verlängert werden. Wie ein typischer Fastentag bei uns aussieht, das können Sie auf der Seite: Ein Tag bei Buchinger Wilhelmi nachlesen.

Buchinger Heilfasten zielt auf ganzheitliches Wohlbefinden und umfasst mit den von Dr. Otto Buchinger so genannten Hilfsmethoden vielfältige Angebote und Behandlungen für Körper, Geist und Seele. Welche das sind und wie sie sich im Detail darstellen, finden Sie auf der Seite:

Unser ganzheitliches Programm